Nonfiction Contest for Emerging Writers

$1,000 and publication in Boulevard awarded to the winning essay by a writer who has not yet published a book of fiction, poetry, or creative non-fiction with a nationally distributed press.

We are happy to announce the results of the 2018 Nonfiction Contest for Emerging Writers. We received many excellent entries this year, and the editors selected The Worldwide Roller Derby Convention” by Gabrielle Montesanti.

Congratulations also to the runner up: “Searching” by Anittah Patrick

Their essays will be published in the April 2019 edition of Boulevard. We will open submissions for the 2019 nonfiction contest on June 2, 2019.


  • All entries must be postmarked before September 30, 2019 or submitted online by midnight CT.

  • Entry fee is $16 for each individual essay, with no limit per author, and includes a one-year subscription. Make checks payable to Boulevard.

  • Author's name, address, and telephone number, in addition to the essay's title and "Boulevard Emerging Writers Contest," should appear on page one.

  • Manuscripts should be typed and double spaced.

  • Cover sheets are not necessary.

  • No manuscripts will be returned.

  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but previously accepted or published work is ineligible.

  • We accept works up to 8,000 words.

  • We are especially interested in nonfiction works that are researched and/or reported such as literary journalism, hybrid essays, etc.

  • All entries will be considered for publication and for payment at our regular rates.

  • Entries will be judged by the editors of Boulevard.

  • No one editorially or financially affiliated with Boulevard can enter the contest.

  • The winning essay will be first announced on the website and then published in the subsequent issue of Boulevard.

  • Mail submissions to Boulevard Emerging Writers Contest, 4125 Juniata St. #B, St. Louis, MO 63116 or submit online.


Due to the number of submissions, we cannot respond to each writer individually. Please check the website for notification of the winner.