Poetry Contest for Emerging Poets

$1,000 and publication awarded for the winning group of three poems by a poet who has not yet published a book of poetry with a nationally distributed press. 

We are happy to announce the results of the 2018 Poetry Contest for Emerging Poets. We received many excellent entries this year, and our contest judge, Ryan Smith, selected Mandy Gutmann-Gonzalez. Their winning group of three poems will appear in the Fall 2018 or Spring 2019 issue.  

Congratulations also to our honorable mentions: Joshua Aiken and Cynthia X. Hua.

We will open submissions for the 2019 poetry contest on January 1, 2019.


  • All entries must be postmarked by June 1, 2019 or submitted online by midnight CT.
  • Entry fee is $16 per group of three poems and $16 for each additional group. Fee includes a one-year subscription. Make checks payable to Boulevard.
  • Author's name, address, and telephone number, in addition to the titles of the three poems, should appear on the first page.
  • Cover sheets are not necessary.
  • No manuscripts will be returned.
  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but previously accepted or published work is ineligible.
  • The poems may be a sequence or unrelated.
  • All entries will be considered for publication and for payment at our regular rates. 
  • Entries will be judged by the editors of Boulevard magazine.
  • No one editorially or financially affiliated with Boulevard can enter the contest.
  • The winning poems will be first announced on the website and then published in the following issue of Boulevard
  • Send typed manuscript(s) to Boulevard Emerging Poets Contest, 4125 Juniata St. B, St. Louis, MO 63116 or submit online. 


Due to the number of submissions, we cannot respond to each writer individually. Please check back for the announcement of the winner.


Previous Winners

Elizabeth Hoover, 2017

Stacey Walker, 2016

Richard Lloyd-Jones, 2015

Alex Chernow, 2014

Christopher Robley, 2013

Jordan Pemberton, 2012

Hallie Rundle, 2011

Thomas Q. Morin, 2010

Salita Bryant, 2009

Greg McBride, 2008

Deborah Kroman, 2007

Jennifer Banks, 2005