Short Fiction Contest for Emerging Writers

$1,500 and publication in Boulevard awarded to the winning story by a writer who has not yet published a book of fiction, poetry, or creative non-fiction with a nationally distributed press.

We are happy to announce that the winning story of the 2018 Fiction Contest for Emerging Writers is “Lost Gun, $1000 Reward, No Questions” by Claire Boyles.

Congratulations also to our runner-up, "Shirley” by Hannah Williams.

The 2019 contest will open for submissions on August 1, 2019.


  • All entries must be postmarked by December 31, 2019 or submitted online by midnight CT.

  • Entry fee is $16 for each individual story, with no limit per author, and includes a one-year subscription. Make checks payable to Boulevard.

  • Author's name, address, and telephone number, in addition to the story's title and "Boulevard Emerging Writers Contest," should appear on page one.

  • Manuscripts should be typed and double spaced.

  • Cover sheets are not necessary.

  • No manuscripts will be returned.

  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but previously accepted or published work is ineligible.

  • We accept works up to 8,000 words.

  • All entries will be considered for publication and for payment at our regular rates.

  • Entries will be judged by the editors of Boulevard.

  • No one editorially or financially affiliated with Boulevard can enter the contest.

  • The winning story will be first announced on the website, traditionally during June, though occasionally earlier, and then published in the follow issue of Boulevard.

  • Mail submissions to Boulevard Emerging Writers Contest, PMB 325, 6614 Clayton Road, Richmond Heights, MO 63117 or submit online.


Due to the number of submissions, we cannot respond to each writer individually. Please check the website for notification of the winner. 


Previous Winners

Caitlin Campbell, 2017

Anastasia Selby, 2016

Joshua Idaszak, 2015

Courtney Sender, 2014

Terrance Manning, Jr., 2013

Patrick Nathan, 2012

Joe Haske, 2011

Julia Elliot, 2010

Lauren Foss Goodman, 2009

Marc Watkins, 2008

Theodore Wheeler, 2007

Ryan Bartelmay, 2006

Elizabeth Orndorff, 2005

Eric Puchner, 2004

Phyllis Galley Westover, 2003

Mija Rhee Davine, 2002

Alma Garcia de Lilla, 2000

David Stevenson, 1999

Gina Vivinetto, 1998